The School District of Philadelphia
Office of Communications
440 N. Broad Street, Suite 301~Philadelphia, PA 19130-4015~(215)400-4040


Media Contact: Megan Lello



PHILADELPHIA — Sixty teachers from The School District of Philadelphia have received the annual Lindback Award for Distinguished Public Teachers, marking the first year the award has been expanded to include teachers at all levels -- elementary, middle and high school.

“These award-winning teachers go above and beyond to support students both inside and outside the classroom,” said Dr. William R. Hite, Superintendent of The School District of Philadelphia. “Their leadership, commitment and persistence make them distinguished educators who have gained the respect of their school communities. We are thankful for their dedication and congratulate them all on their achievements.”

The awards were handed out today at a ceremony at the Prince Theater in Center City. Speakers at today’s event included Dr. Hite; Otis Hackney, Chief Education Officer of The City of Philadelphia; Joyce Wilkerson, Chair of the School Reform Commission; and David Loder, Lindback Foundation trustee.

Given annually by the Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Foundation since 2008, the award recognizes exemplary teachers in the District and includes a $3,500 stipend.   

Last month, the Foundation honored seven principals who have made significant leadership and humanitarian contributions to their schools and communities. The Lindback Award for Distinguished Principal Leadership included a $20,000 stipend to benefit each school community.


Anissa Weinraub, Academy at Palumbo; Candice Smith, Anne Frank Elementary School; Michael Franklin, Chester A. Arthur Elementary School; Todd Corabi, Arts Academy at Benjamin Rush; Natalie Watt, Childs Elementary School; Janel Flanagan, Constitution High School; Alexandra Halbom, Cooke Elementary School; Nicholas D’Orsaneo IV, Cook-Wissahickon Elementary School; Jeffrey Gross, Edison High School; Jennifer Hale, Ethel Allen Promise Academy;Marcie Behanna, Feltonville Intermediate School; Kathleen Tye, Fox Chase Elementary School; Joseph Frailoli, Frankford High School; Julia McComie, Franklin Learning Center; Tiffany Lorch, Furness High School;

Anita Abraham, George Washington High School; Deborah W. Mann, Girard Academic Music Program; Jhannell Small, Hartranft Elementary School; Nanette Foley, Philadelphia High School for Creative and Performing Arts; Ashley Hernandez, Hill-Freedman World Academy; Karen M. Askew-Teel, John Bartram High School; Ellwood P. Erb IV, Kensington CAPA; Meghan Niedosik, Kensington High School; Thinh Thach, Kirkbride Elementary School; Matthew Wahl, Lankenau Environmental Science Magnet High School; Jennifer Harris, Lea Elementary School; Carolyn Gray, Masterman High School; Lisa Hantman, McCall Elementary School; Sonia Adams, McClure Elementary School; Stacey Dello Buono, Mifflin Elementary School; Keena Core, Mitchell Elementary School; Emmitta Woods, Morton McMichael Promise Academy; Ivey Welshans, Middle Years Alternative;

Javier Dominguez, Nebinger Elementary School; Diane Honor, Overbrook Educational Center; Sarah Friedland, Overbrook High School; Robert Lajoie, Parkway Center City High School; Margie Goodwin, Paul Robeson High School; Elsie Camp, Penn Alexander; Mary Elizabeth McGroary, Pennypack House School; Cristobal Carambo, Philadelphia High School for Girls; Syeed King, Philadelphia Juvenile Justice Services Center; Jerry White, Philadelphia Learning Academy-North; Chandra Singh, Philadelphia Military Academy; Monique Henry, Potter-Thomas Promise Academy; Marie Wilkins-Walker, Promise Academy at West Philadelphia High School;

Charlene Fenster, Randolph Technical High School; Michael Perricone, Roxborough High School; Jennifer Disque, Saul High School of Agricultural Sciences; Jada Warfield-Henry, Sayre High School; Eros Uthman-Olukokun, School of the Future; Ann Leaness, Science Leadership Academy at Beeber; Chiny Ky, South Philadelphia High School; Steven Quigley, Strawberry Mansion High School; Kenya Moody, Swenson High School; Nicholas Petit, Thomas Home Elementary School; Samuel Reed III, U School; Dana Haas, Vare Washington Elementary School; Taj Utsey, Wilson Middle School; and Jared Lauterbach, Workshop School.


Stay informed of SDP’s activities online: videos available at and; follow us on Twitter at; or watch PSTV 52 in Philadelphia (Comcast Cable).

«« Back